My October

I never liked October.

When I was growing up in Texas, fall was not a full-fledged season. It was a nominal gap, wedged between the extended summer and Thanksgiving, serving only to offer a belated chill to football weather.

In my young world, there were two kinds of leaves—green and brown. Mother Nature wasn’t afforded the temperature nor the time to awe southerners with the same dazzling colors that adorned a northern October. The fall trees in my own back yard didn’t remotely resemble those tiny torn pieces of ragged red, orange, and yellow construction paper neatly pasted onto a bare, cut-out tree. My elementary artwork had no bearing in reality.

During my later sojourns, I did occasionally experience the wondrous effects of climates with four distinct seasons. I discovered that scarecrows in cornfields are for real and fresh apple cider is to die for. I also saw for myself that autumn’s metamorphosis could be startlingly beautiful. Because I had to wait years to finally see it, the brilliance of an authentic fall seemed over-animated, like waking up in Oz after living in black and white.

When I crossed the threshold into the autumn of life, it was with the same droll fanfare as the crunch of dry prairie grass under a cowboy boot. I never liked October anyway, and I certainly didn’t like this one. After expecting to finally reach a season of reaping sentimental rewards, I instead faced the symbolic pictorial of a Texas autumn. The remnants of a marital lifetime that was once was lush and growing had withered and fluttered aimlessly to the ground in grievous disarray. That resulted in a midlife divorce plopping me flat on my back, squarely into the middle of that pile of dead, fallen leaves.

From that coarsely pillowed spot on the ground, I had nowhere to look but up. Then, I was caught up in one of those tornado-like mental whirlwinds, where past events and familiar faces spin around until they converge to create one picture that’s worth a thousand words.

I arose from my sleepy-eyed daze to find myself living in a different kind of October. I wasn’t in Kansas anymore. I was still the same woman and I hadn’t gotten any younger, yet it felt like a timeless moment. The once willowy branches of my pillaged dreams were now bursting with bright and varied colors, boasting their bold artistry. The sights and sounds of an autumn harvest overtook my heart in sweet anticipation. I knew it was coming. No. I knew it was here.

That’s when I fell in love. Not with a clumsy cardboard depiction, but with the full-seasoned experience waiting in my October. I had to see the hidden potential in the autumn of life before I could believe the beauty of the benefits.

I remembered how those Texas autumns tiptoed between summer and winter like a boring intermission. Then I recalled those few times I was privileged to see autumn at its golden best. I knew wholeheartedly that as a woman in her third season, my own October deserved a big spotlight on a glorious stage, flaunting that generous bounty and entirely lovely cascade of accoutrements.

Now I can only embrace all that October can be…and will be. Autumn has become my favorite time of year, because it represents all the richness life can bring. I love my October. It is my season of hope, and I have faith that it will also bring a time of abundant love.

GG♥

6 Comments

Filed under October Romance

6 responses to “My October

  1. I’m in the Autumn of my life too, I suppose and I’m still not a big fan of the season. Autumns in NC can mean turning on the heat and the AC on the same day! Which wreaks havoc on those of us whose asthma is triggered by severe temperature changes. Yes, the fall leaves are beautiful, but it seems to me a prelude to death. After their glorious colors, they turn brown and die. I prefer the beautiful green buds of spring and the vibrant greens of summer–I also prefer the warmer, more stable temps.

    Great post!

  2. I suppooooose,.having more than fifty autumns to my name, I can be classified as autumnal myself, but I have to say, I’ve never been happier nor more at peace. I know who I am, what I want, and a lot about how to enjoy the journey procuring it. I have wonderful friends, wisdom to share, dreams coming true and a reasonable complement of physical health. Mostly I have sense enough to know I’m well blessed.

    And I don’t see life as a progression toward death. I see it as a climb up a mountain of wisdom, and the higher I go, the more spectacular the view, the broader my tolerance and appreciation for life.

    The best IS yet to be….

  3. HI Gina, Very nice website and blog. I’ll buy your book. It sounds great. Just wanted to let you know that I was not able to link from your main page to your blog. You probably need to link that. I had to copy and paste the URL into the thingy. From here, I’m going to retweet your tweet about your book because I like what I’ve seen on your website, blog, and I’m sure the book won’t dissapoint. Holly http://www.writingstraight.com

    • Thanks, Holly! Yep, I know about the link glitch. Just a little technical difficulty–mainly in my brain! I appreciate the retweet and the encouraging words! I’m on my way to your website right now to check it out!

Leave a Reply

